5 stars: Excellent

GREAT staff (Ashley) at Walkerville Windsor Storage

I have been with the Windsor, Ontario Walkerville Storage site for 15-20 years and the site has gone through a number of owners. In most cases it simply meant a reduction in service and a significant increase in cost.
This time, Access is the owner and we'll see what happens. However, in the meantime, I am compelled to recognize the on-site staff at Windsor, Walkerville Storage. Ashley is absolutely outstanding. I had a large unit with the traditional 'stuff' one collects over the years and should have purged many years ago. My son and I tackled the job over 1 1/2 days. Ashely was so helpful and most of all pleasant to every request. Her competency was in full display as she cancelled my larger unit and set-up the smaller unit. As well, she patiently and gracefully explained how the transfer of excess fees (already paid to the large unit) would be applied to the new unit.
Words are inadequate to effectively describe how great it is when dealing with a pleasant and competent staff. GREAT job to Ashley and Access Storage!

Reply from Access Storage
Thank you, Wayne! We are appreciative of your loyalty over the years and will continue to provide the great service you have come to expect from us. We take so much pride in our work and ensuring our clients and their belongings are taken care of! :)
1 star: Bad

Horrible Customer Service

The worst worst place ever. We had been renting a rental unit that was bought over by Access Storage on Vantage Drive, Ottawa. We had no hiccups whatsoever with the previous storage unit owners. Right away, Access Storage wanted to increase our rental rate by 30% and after painful negotiations with a top executive, they were only able to reduce the increase minutely. Despite the increased rent they were collecting, the service declined, with the access doors to the unit freezing to the floor making it impossible to get into the unit. The snow/ice clearing was lacking and the climatized unit we were paying for had no heat. They claimed that the furnace broke but they offered no compensation or rebate on the bill. When you call the 1-800 number you get no service either - they have no power and just revert you back to the site office.
If you are wrongly charged, they revert you back to the site office again for billing issues. If you have problems with the site office staff, you really have no where to go except to contact a regional manager. Good luck getting that number! The 1800 people act as gatekeepers making it extremely difficult to get to anyone of importance in any situation. Once, one of our employees was locked into the gated complex after hours and could not get out due to a card malfunction. We called the 1800 number only to be told that no one could be sent out because the building was NOT on fire which would be the only situation constituting an emergency - awful customer service. We were charged high late fees even when we were not late and they refused to credit back the late fee. On exiting this rental, the next monthly fee was charged and then reversed when we asked for it back immediately. The very next day, their automated system charged the rental unit again and we are still fighing to receive the credit 4 months later. This company capitalizes on charging renters every 4 weeks instead of once a month - this way they can collect 13 months of rent in only 12 months. Definitely the worst storage rental company we have ever rented from and do not recommend. They are happy to take your money - but good luck getting it back after they have charged you. From our experience, they have been completely unethical and unprofessional in the business relationship.

Reply from Access Storage
I am sorry to hear about your experience, Emily. We value our clients and your feedback will help us improve. I have followed up with our senior team to investigate and find the right solution, as soon as possible. If you could please send your contact information to review@storagevaultcanada.com, to ensure we can connect.
Thank you.
5 stars: Excellent

the best servce ever

my mother-law and I have used a storage space from
Access Storage 352 Maple Street in Kitchener
the ladies behind the desk were awesome
they were very clear about the services and very pleasant during our 6 months of using their facility
we just want to thank them and if we ever need another unit we will definitely go back to see them
thanks so much for great service and have a great day

Reply from Access Storage
Hello D Devries, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to have helped. Hope to see you again soon :)
5 stars: Excellent

Inkster BLVD Location

The staff at the Inkster blvd in Winnipeg, Manitoba Location is amazing and the most friendly I have ever spoke with. The units are clean and spacious and they are willing to help you with anything you need. They give you time and are willing to suggest ideas to help you out. Thank You Darlene!!!!

Reply from Access Storage
Hello Lauren, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to have helped, Darlene is fantastic! Hope to see you again soon :)
5 stars: Excellent

Thank you for the good service !

Thank you for the good service !
Special thank to Krissh Pillai for help,support and patience.
Agnes

Reply from Access Storage
Hello Agnes, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to have helped. Hope to see you again soon :)
5 stars: Excellent

Thank you so much to Dee at the Access…

Thank you so much to Dee at the Access storage in Orpington. Very friendly and professional service. Would recommend.

Reply from Access Storage
Hello Michele, Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to have helped. Hope to see you again soon :)
2 stars: Poor

The people who work at Access Storage…

The people who work at Access Storage where I have a unit. The staff there are excellent! I however; do not approve of the company policies, regarding late fees, charging a full month's rent, which they call a lean fee. Under the circumstances, we are all living with today; people laid off, lost their jobs to COVID. You would think the company would review their present policies, waiving the fee of a full month's rent! For what they call a lien fee! My account was not even in 60 days! I operate a business, like all businesses our revenues have dropped by 50% even 60%. I have receivables in 60 days, I can't charge interest to overdue accounts or fees! How is it Access Storage can fee their customers to the point where, I'm certain one may not be able to raise the funds, to pay the past due rent on their unit! I wouldn't recommend Access Storage to anyone. Stay clear!

Reply from Access Storage
Hello Mike, I am sorry to hear about this. Your experience and belongings are our top priority and your feedback will help us improve. I have forwarded this information to our senior management team to investigate. Thank you for your patience.
5 stars: Excellent

Top Customer Service & Beautiful Location!

Dina the Manager at this location gives you so many options for your needs/personally. Her customer service is amazing and the location is BEAUTIFUL, clean and brand new. All units have the additional features of temperature control which is a huge bonus for your items. I was so happy that I went into the location to see Dina personally.

Reply from Access Storage
Hello Shaina, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to have helped, Dina is wonderful! Hope to see you again soon :)
5 stars: Excellent

Rating review

Good communication and excellent service.

Reply from Access Storage
Hello Lionel. Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to have helped. Hope to see you again soon :)
5 stars: Excellent

Very friendly and informative spent…

Very friendly and informative spent time showing us various units that would accommodate our needs. Dina was awesome got back to us the same day with all are answers. She made the decision easy for us to rent from access storage.

Reply from Access Storage
Hello Carlo. Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to have helped. Hope to see you again soon :)
1 star: Bad

SLUM LORDS

3 years of storage. And 2 price hikes. Slumlords.

Reply from Access Storage
Thank you for your review, Gina. In order to offer the best possible prices, we take great care in setting our prices according to the local market, which can increase or decrease.
5 stars: Excellent

Fantastic choice for storage.

My wife and I are so pleased to have chosen Access storage on Ninth Line. Justin was so cordial and helpful. He took us on a tour of the facility and made sure we were comfortable and knowledgable. and we now have our storage area. It is all new and so very well managed and taken care of, very clean, and a very well secured and monitored facility. The staff is very friendly and always waving hello when we bring in more house content to store.

Reply from Access Storage
Hello Brian, we are happy to hear everything is going great. Justin is fantastic indeed! We are proud to be of great service to you during this time :).
1 star: Bad

While we are all struggling financially…

While we are all struggling financially due to the COVID19. Banks deferring mortgage payment, lowering interest rates in credit cards ect.. Just giving a hand to everyone. People helping each other! What is this company has offered? SENDING EMAILS TO UNIT OWNERS OF LATE PAYMENT? ARE YOU SERIOUS? WHILE EVERYONE ARE STRUGGLING TO PAY RENT AND NOT TO MENTION FOOD ON THE TABLE. THIS COMPANY HAS NOTHING IN MIND BUT PROFITS! SHAME ON YOU ACCESS STORAGE!

Reply from Access Storage
Thank you for your post, I have forwarded your comments to our Client Care team. If you are comfortable, kindly email us directly at review@storagevaultcanada.com , with the full name the account is under and the location where storing. Our approach is to work with each one of our clients on an individual basis and we’d appreciate the opportunity to connect on the matter.
5 stars: Excellent

So far my experience had been very…

So far my experience had been very good.
Very polite ,infirmati e and helpful employees.
Fast and efficient!
The site has goid security,easy access and very clean!

Reply from Access Storage
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience, Ana. We are proud to be of great service to you during this time :)!
5 stars: Excellent

I was very satisfied with the service.

I was very satisfied with the service.
Solange Sakalauskas

Reply from Access Storage
Hello Solange. We are happy to hear how satisfied you are with the service provided here at Access Storage.
5 stars: Excellent

Initially the process was excellent

Initially the process was excellent. Thenwhen Covid closures came. It was stated office was closed. Did not .Enron they only closed the door. I saw 3 people walk away from Your front office. No one answered the phone either. I was in a panic as I was awaiting a code for entry. Was shown a different unit to what I expected.
So initially all was excellent but unforeseen circumstances caused panic. Advertising needs to be more clear and staff more accessible.

Reply from Access Storage
Thank you for your feedback.
5 stars: Excellent

Great experience

Great experience! Quick friendly and did quick adjustments to doing the sign online. This my second time using them.

Reply from Access Storage
Hello Tyler, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are happy to have you again :).
4 stars: Great

Overall very good service

Overall very good service and a well kept storage site. Only complaint I had was the amount of rent increase over a 3 year period, over 35-40%!

Reply from Access Storage
Hello Mike. Thank you for your feedback.
2 stars: Poor

My password to the gate didn't work and…

My password to the gate didn't work and I had movers waiting my the hour

Reply from Access Storage
Hello John. Thank you for your feedback. Our upper management team has been notified for further investigation.
5 stars: Excellent
Reply from Access Storage
Hello Helene, we are proud to be of continued great service.